the real short story.

I’ve always loved adventures. I love seeing new sights, hearing new sounds and meeting new people. Growing up, my family and I did a little bit of traveling, but I didn’t think I appreciated it as much as I should. It wasn’t until I moved to Los Angeles in 2012 where my heart for adventures truly bloomed. 

How we met
Sage and I met in August 2014. He’ll tell you that we first were introduced at church community group while I remember us formally meeting the Sunday after at Tender Greens. I had an instant crush on him (it was the blue eyes). As he talked with me about himself, I looked up his Facebook. Also, I will not forget that he called me “Becky”. We became better friends on many adventures camping at the Grand Canyon, Yosemite National Park, and Joshua Tree National Park with a group of friends. Every time we hung out, whether it be on a trip or at a movie night, it seemed as though we ended up sitting next to each other. 

 

 

Dating
Early 2015, I applied for a grad school program that included a year in a half in the Philippines. It was not until after we went to Joshua Tree  later that year I realized my feelings for Sage were more than just a crush. At first, when I shared this with him, he didn’t want to pursue me because I was leaving.  However, he did agree to ask me out on a pity date. Though after it, a romantic relationship was not pursued. We then decided to take a break from our friendship. In that break, I realized I genuinely missed his friendship. I learn through telling this story that during this time, he also realized that he missed me as a friend. After we booked a trip to visit our friend who recently moved to London (and then to visit Paris for the fun of it), I became aware the feelings for him stayed (when I expected them to fade). Before we left, I told him, but received no response. So I went to Europe with no expectations which helped me to enjoy the trip. It was not until our last night in Paris that he made a move.

[He had planned to make a move during our Europe trip regardless. When I shared my feelings with him before we left, it affirmed his plan]

Engaged
Our adventures with each other continued while dating.

 

Marriage was a topic we discussed a couple of times while we were dating. Our conversations became more serious after our one year anniversary. Because we love adventures, we booked a trip to Ireland with a couple of our friends. I knew a proposal would happen soon. My roommate asked what I would like my engagement ring look like. Another hint was when the ring I used to wear on my right hand disappeared after I left for a work retreat. A couple of days later, it reappeared. From there, I had a slight feeling that Sage would propose in Ireland. I wanted to enjoy the trip so I put it in the back on my mind. We went to Dublin first and then headed to Galway. Much to my surprise, the friend that moved to London joined us on our trip (everyone else seemed to know.) We picked her up from the airport and then traveled to the Cliffs of Moher (one of the top places I wanted to go!). When Sage bent down to ‘adjust his shoe’ I knew it was the moment. As he was on one knee, asking me to marry him, I heard clicking sounds behind me. Our friend, who is a wedding photographer, was not only there to adventure with us, but invited along to capture our moment!

 

 

Planning for a day, preparing for a lifetime
Our story doesn’t end there though. I think that with these types of stories, that big moment is the end all be all. But even the wedding day is not the goal– I get to spend the rest of my life with a man that began as a friend. I grew to love him as he extends grace and kindness. Even though we are in the engagement/wedding planning season, we know that it is much more than a day but a life alongside one another.  

