the story thus far.

“Only the good stories have the characters different at the end than they were at the beginning. And the closest thing I can liken life to is a book the way it stretches out on paper, page after page, as if to trick the mind into thinking it isn’t happening at once.”
Donald Miller Through Painted Deserts

i keep wondering why i feel like i’m living a small story inside a larger Story . i keep wondering why i separate my life into chapters. i keep wondering why God allows me to remember certain things so clearly even if it’s heartbreaking.

so i ask Him. and He says to me:

Child. nothing is a coincidence. everything I do has a purpose. your memory of certain moments is a gift. you remember them and the person you were. you have changed. you have grown in My love and grace and are more precious and beautiful because of that. everyday I grow you closer to glory self and you have the gift to reflect upon it. I love you so much not to leave you how you were. above all, those times, not matter how much they hurt, help you understand your character development. 

naturally i reflect up on this. i reflect upon the chapters i’ve already lived and what sort of character i was in them. i reflect on the moments between the pages and how each and every one of them has shaped me. yesterday marked the two year anniversary of living in los angeles, and more importantly, today marks the four year anniversary of walking and loving Christ. both have been incredible stories so far. both have taken me places i never dreamed of, allowed me to cross paths with people i can’t imagine life without, and transformed my character incredibly.

a year from now, i know my story will be different because i will be different. a year from now, i will remember how i used to be and praise God that He sets chapters in our lives. and i will reflect upon His grace and mercy and love that unconditionally flowed from page to page.

IMG_0345[1]

last saturday, i stood on the skydeck of a 20 story apartment building in the middle of koreatown. cue my breath being taken away. [do yourself a favor and click the photo]

Leave a Reply

